Britishness watch pt. 1 – Margaret Hodge, the Proms and Henry VIII

Margaret Hodge in the Guardian, reported as saying that the proms are not British enough (or the right kind of British) because they don’t express ‘new common values,’ (fairness, toleration, democracy, yadda, yadda, yadda.)

More interesting is her suggestion that the 500th anniversary of the accession of Henry VIII to the throne which falls next year could be used to spark a fresh debate about Britishness. This is an excellent idea (although wasn’t old Henry king of England and Ireland not Great Britain?) I’d like to see Gordon Brown wrestle Nicolas Sarkozy in a field. We could also replace our current outdated national anthem with something that reflects the forward-looking, progressive modern Britain of today:

I'M HENRY THE VIII, I AM

(Murray/Weston) I'm Henry the eighth I am Henry the eighth I am, I am I got married to the widow next door She's been married seven times before And every one was an Henry (Henry) She wouldn't have a Willy or a Sam (no Sam) I'm her eighth old man, I'm Henry Henry the eighth I am Second verse same as the first I'm Henry the eighth I am Henry the eighth I am, I am I got married to the widow next door She's been married seven times before And every one was an Henry (Henry) She wouldn't have a Willy or a Sam (no Sam) I'm her eighth old man, I'm Henry Henry the eighth I am ------ lead guitar ------ I'm Henry the eighth I am Henry the eighth I am, I am I got married to the widow next door She's been married seven times before And every one was an Henry (Henry) She wouldn't have a Willy or a Sam (no Sam) I'm her eighth old man, I'm Henry Henry the eighth I am H-E-N-R-Y Henry (Henry) Henry (Henry) Henry the eighth I am, I am Henry the eighth I am Yeah!
Published in: on March 4, 2008 at 10:14 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edwardvallance.wordpress.com/2008/03/04/britishness-watch-pt-1-margaret-hodge-the-proms-and-henry-viii/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. That was Dan Kitto’s favourite karaoke song…


Leave a Reply

